National Trust for Historic Preservation

Constitutional Amendments

Constitutional Amendments Overlay


During Wilson’s eight years as president, Congress passed two constitutional amendments: prohibition (18th); and women’s suffrage (19th). Wilson vetoed the Volstead Act (the 18th amendment), believing it to be unenforceable, but the law, designed to enforce Prohibition, was passed over his veto.

Two other amendments were ratified while Wilson was President: income tax (16th) was ratified in February 1913; and direct election of Senators (17th) was ratified on April 8, 1913.